Academics » Curriculum and State Standards

Curriculum and State Standards

Leckie ES and DCPS are thrilled to share our brand new Family Curriculum Guides for Kindergarten - 5th Grade! 
Here are some simple instructions for our families:
1) Find the guide that corresponds with your child's grade
2) The first side tells you what is being taught in all the core subjects throughout the year
3) Flip the page over and you'll find great ideas for fun and easy ways to support classroom learning at home
See attached files for the each grade level's curriculum

Common Core State Standards
The Common Core is a set of high-quality academic standards in mathematics and English language arts/literacy (ELA). These learning goals outline what a student should know and be able to do at the end of each grade. The standards were created to ensure that all students graduate from high school with the skills and knowledge necessary to succeed in college, career, and life, regardless of where they live. Forty-five states, the District of Columbia, four territories, and the Department of Defense Education Activity (DoDEA) have voluntarily adopted and are moving forward with the Common Core.